All Apps and Add-ons

Asset Discovery App

rmsit
Communicator

Hi, all. I just installed the Asset Discovery App in Splunk and really like it, however, I'm having issues in my Windows environment. I understand the app is not supported by Splunk and I'm looking for a similar (free) app that is Splunk supported. Any suggestions? Thanks.

0 Karma

mw
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hello rmsit, I'm the author of that app and I'd be happy to work on this issue with you. Strictly speaking, editing of the vb script shouldn't be necessary. If you pass arguments in they should override the defaults such as -sV. Regarding the -iL argument: could you please post your relevant input stanza?

Also, if you run the search:

index=_internal sourcetype=splunkd asset_discovery error 

I'd be curious to know if there is any error output.

0 Karma

Waltersr24

i'm having trouble with getting anything into the app. I'm pretty new to Splunk and would really like to use this app for my network.

0 Karma

rmsit
Communicator

When telling nmap to use a file via input script, no results are available. I resorted to listing all of the target IPs as a workaround and removed the input containing the "-iL" argument. Also, to correct my oringal post, I edited the script to use "-sn" and not "-sc" for ping scans.

0 Karma

mw
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Also, the two inputs you've specified are effectively the same -- both will perform full port scans, the one just includes OS fingerprinting. The ping scan definition should probably have some arguments to concentrate just on system availability.

0 Karma

mw
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

I don't see an input that contains the "-iL" argument. Do the inputs listed work as expected? What happens when you attempt to use the "-iL" argument exactly?

0 Karma

rmsit
Communicator