All Apps and Add-ons

Applying conf updates to master & forwarders via Kubernetes

nickgleed
Explorer

Im new to both k8 and splunk. I'm interested in the best practice of deploying changes of various conf files to either search/indexers or to forwarders. My intention is to embed conf changes into my helm deployments and either spin up or update the pods as applicable via helm. Where forwarders are baked into an AMI for non dockerised apps the updates will scripted into a "golden image/AMI" via jenkins.

Is this approach OK - or should we apply conf updates via jenkins by uploading files onto the master and let splunk replicate the conf updates? I hope this makes sense.

Tags (1)
0 Karma

vliggio
Communicator

For indexers, if you're using a master server, you really should use the master to control your configs. How you control your master is up to you - if you want to use helm, jenkins, whatever, that's fine - just use the Splunk commands to push those configs to the indexers. This ensures that the configs are consistent and you can also control reboots somewhat more easily.

Search heads are similar - if you're using a search cluster, push your configs to the deployers using your tool of choice, and use the Splunk cli commands to push the configs out to the search cluster. Individual search heads can be configured any way you like.