Alerting

Why is the custom alert script failing with sendalert?

jrehl01

I'm trying to create a custom alert application. All I want to do right now is to see what kind of parameters I can pull and utilize. So I'm just doing a simple print into a file. I created an app called say, test. And the script is called showconfiguration. This is my first time making a custom app.

Here's what the directory structure looks like under /opt/splunk/etc/apps/test:
test/

├── appserver
│   └── static
│       └── icon.png
├── bin
│   └── showconfiguration.py
├── default
│   ├── alert_actions.conf
│   ├── app.conf
│   └── data
│       └── ui
│           └── alerts
│               └── showconfiguration.html
├── metadata
│   ├── default.meta
│   └── local.meta
└── README
    └── alert_actions.conf.spec

Here's alert_actions.conf contents:
> [showconfiguration]
>is_custom = 1
>label = Testing Splunk alerting capability
>description = Testing
>icon_path = icon.png
>payload_format = json
>param.trigger_reason = Saved Search [test] number of events ($job.resultCount$)
>param.result_count = $job.resultCount$
>param.one = two

Contents of app.conf:
> [ui]
>is_visible = 0
>label = Alert Tests
>
>[launcher]
>author = Me
>description = Testing splunk alert capability
>version = 0.1
>
>[install]
>state = enabled
>is_configured = 1

And everything is owned by splunk:splunk and I think has the correct permissions.
So I create an alert and set it to run this custom alert. It never runs and I see this error in the splunkd.log:

08-29-2018 15:10:40.746 -0400 ERROR sendmodalert - Error in 'sendalert' command: Alert action "showconfiguration" not found.

I don't know what I did wrong here. How do I get sendalert to recognize the showconfiguration script??

Labels (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

harsmarvania57
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Try below script and do not include #!/usr/bin/python in your script because splunk will use inbuilt python.

import pprint, json, sys

if __name__ == "__main__":