Alerting

How to receive e-mail alert only once?

n37w0rk
Explorer

Hello everyone,

I'm still very new to the world of Splunk Enterprise. 😉 I hope that you can help me with my problem.

I created the following search to be notified of app updates by email:

Spoiler
| rest /services/apps/local
| search update.version != ""
| rename title AS Update_APP, version AS Update_Version, update.version AS Update_Versionupdate
| table Update_APP Update_Version Update_Versionupdate

The notification type is scheduled to run every day at 12:00 p.m. I chose one as a trigger. However, I get the same ban notification email every day, even though I've already received it.

What do I have to do so that the message is only sent once.

Please excuse my bad English.

Best regards
Björn

Labels (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @n37w0rk,

you could configure the throttle for your alert, in other words a period, after alert trigger, in which the message isn't sent.

You can configure throttle in alert proprties:

gcusello_0-1645089260757.png

Ciao.

Giuseppe

View solution in original post

n37w0rk
Explorer

It can be that easy. I was 100% sure I tested it. Now it's funny. Thanks for the quick help

krgds Björn

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @n37w0rk,

good for you, let me know if I can still help you.

If this answer solves your need, please accept it for the other people of Community.

Ciao and happy splunking.

Giuseppe

P.S.: Karma Points are appreciated 😉

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @n37w0rk,

you could configure the throttle for your alert, in other words a period, after alert trigger, in which the message isn't sent.

You can configure throttle in alert proprties:

gcusello_0-1645089260757.png

Ciao.

Giuseppe

Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

Index This | I am a number, but when you add ‘G’ to me, I go away. What number am I?