Alerting

How do I set permissions for 'View Results in Splunk' link in alert emails so users do not get "The view you requested could not be found"??

cduryea
Engager

Splunk version 6.3.1

Scheduled search emails contain a link "View results in Splunk", but when our users (who actively use Splunk) click this link they get a message “The view you requested could not be found”. I can click the link and see the results, but I am a Splunk administrator. So this leads me to believe there is still a permissions issue residing somewhere.

The scheduled search is not privately owned, it is owned by the app and everyone has read permissions. I have tried this with two different scheduled searches and my users get the same message “The view you requested could not be found”. The results are not expired.

There is something simple I am overlooking and have run out of places to think to look.

Thanks

VijaySrrie
Builder

Nothing worked. Can someone help me resolve the issue

0 Karma

thambisetty
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

@VijaySrrie 

There is a problem with URL generated by sendemail alert action. The URL which is generated by sendemail is not matched with the actual URL of results of your job. 

you might be seeing something like below in your view results link generated by sendemail alert action

(not working)

https://localhost/app/SplunkEnterpriseSecuritySuite/@go?sid=scheduler_aGVscGFnX2J0aGFtYmlzZXR0eQ--SplunkEnterpriseSecuritySuite--RMD5d9601e54d98432f3_at_1629087420_8139

The actual URL should be like below

(working)

https://localhost/app/SplunkEnterpriseSecuritySuite/@go?sid=scheduler_aGVscGFnX2J0aGFtYmlzZXR0eQ__SplunkEnterpriseSecuritySuite__RMD5d9601e54d98432f3_at_1629087420_8139

if you had closely observed the two URLs, -(hyphens) are replaced with _(underscore). 

As a workaround, try replacing -(hyphens) with _(underscore). It should give you the results if the job is not expired.

————————————
If this helps, give a like below.
0 Karma

richgalloway