Alerting

Can you help me use an alert with a Splunk search query?

kira_l
Explorer

Hi everyone.

Does anyone have any idea on how to use conditional statements within a search query?

My problem statement wants me to create an alert for as soon as the number of events in the past hour becomes less than (20% less) of the average number of events in the past 20 hours.

As of now, I have a query to parse my log data which displays the number of events.

PS : I'm pretty new to Splunk and still learning the basics. It would be great if anyone could help me with this issue.

Thanks!

0 Karma
1 Solution

jvishwak
Path Finder

You can write a query something like this:
index=_internal earliest = "-20h@h" latest = "-1h@h" | timechart count span=1h | stats avg(count) as OverAllAvgCount latest(count) as latestC | eval calcPer = ((OverAllAvgCount - latestC )/OverAllAvgCount) * 100 | where calcPer > 20

This query is comparing the last hour event count with the last 20 hours average event count, and will give result when difference is more than 20%. Then you can set alert on the events return.

View solution in original post

mbagali_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Kira,

Sample search for your requirement;

index="_internal" earliest=-20h |stats count by host| eval hourlyevents=count/20 | eval avg=hourlyevents*0.2 | where hourlyevents < avg

Description:
eval hourlyevents=count/20 : (calculated no. of events per hour)
eval avg=hourlyevents*0.2 : (20% of hourly events)
where hourlyevents < avg : (If hourly events is less than 20% then alert should trigger)

You can also refer below document:

https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/7.2.3/SearchReference/ConditionalFunctions

kira_l
Explorer

Thanks mbagali. Appreciate it 🙂

0 Karma

jvishwak
Path Finder

You can write a query something like this: