Alerting

Alterting on value returned by the Splunk add-on for Unix and Linux

davidcaughill
Explorer

Forgive my ignorance as I'm relatively new to Splunk. I'm currently hitting what I *think* is a data type issue, but I'm not quite sure how to proceed. We are using the Splunk add-on for Unix and Linux to return the set of 'df-metric' values. I would like to set up a simple alert on the metric_name:df_metric.UsePct value, alerting when the value exceeds 85%. I'm able to run this query and return data using an equality operator on that value: 

index="linuxlogs" sourcetype="df_metric" host="ip-xxx-xx-xx-x" Filesystem = "/dev/xvda1" "metric_name:df_metric.UsePct"=8

...however I'm NOT able to return data when perform an 'greater than' comparison on the metric_name:df_metric.UsePct value like this: 

index="linuxlogs" sourcetype="df_metric" host="ip-xxx-xx-xx-x" Filesystem = "/dev/xvda1" "metric_name:df_metric.UsePct">8

Initially I tried manipulating the metric_name:df_metric.UsePct with the tonumber() function, thinking I was possibly receiving a string back, however that does not result in the data I would expect to see. 

If anyone has guidance on traversing the data set returned by df_metric or any other points, I would appreciate it! 

Thank you! 

NOTE: I'm using  as a value for the metric_name:df_metric.UsePct only for testing purposes. This will, of course, need to be adjusted to 85 for the live alert. 

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

renjith_nair
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Alright!

It looks like the pct value is a multi value field for some reason. Probably the values are of metrics and you are not using a metrics index.

You can confirm this by

index= sourcetype="df_metric"
|eval mc=mvcount('metric_name:df_metric.UsePct')
|table metric_name*,mc

Nevertheless,just try this and see if it produces any result

your search
|eval df_pct=mvindex('metric_name:df_metric.UsePct',0)
|where df_pct > 8

Happy Splunking!

View solution in original post

renjith_nair